Current Circulating Banknotes

The Founder of Pakistan Quaid-i-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah, in May, 1948, took steps for immediate establishment of the State Bank of Pakistan. These were implemented by State Bank of Pakistan Order 1948 dated 12 th May, 1948 and the State Bank of Pakistan commenced operation on July 1, 1948.

As per the State Bank of Pakistan Order 1948, the State Bank of Pakistan was charged with the duty to regulate the issue of bank notes and keeping of reserves with a view to securing monetary stability in Pakistan and generally to operate the currency and credit system of the country to its advantage.

The State Bank of Pakistan Act 1956, with subsequent amendments, forms the basis of its operations today. In terms of Section 24, State Bank of Pakistan has the sole right to issue banknotes.

The State Bank of Pakistan introduced the first emergency issues in the denominations of 5, 10, and 100 rupees, printed by De La Rue & Company between 1948 and 1960. Presently new banknote series is in circulation since 2005 with introduction of 20 rupee denomination banknote followed by introduction of other banknote denominations of 50, 100, 500, 1000, and 5000.

Pakistan's Banknotes
10 Rupees - New Note
20 Rupees - New Note
50 Rupees - New Note
100 Rupees - New Note
500 Rupees - (without OVI)
500 Rupees - (OVI) ()
1000 Rupees - New Note
5000 Rupees - New Note

About SBP
Economic Data
Press Releases
Laws & Regulations
Monetary Policy
Help Desk
SBP Videos
SBP Welfare Trust
Contact us
What's New?
Online Tenders
Web Links

Educational Resources
Regulatory Returns
Rupey ko Pehchano
Zahid Husain Memorial Lecture
Best view Screen Resolution : 1024 * 768
Copyright © 2016. All Rights Reserved.