Pakistani Coins

Government of Pakistan issued its first coins in 1948, based on the traditional Rupees, Annas and Pice of the sub-continent, depicting crescent and star. In line with global decimal systems, Pakistan introduced decimal coinage on Jan 01, 1961. This decimal coinage was based on Rupee with division into paisas. 1, 5 and 10-paisa coins were issued in 1961, followed by 25 and 50 paisa coins in 1963. However, decimal coins were demonetized from 1st October 2014.

One Rupee coin was issued in 1977 on Dr. Allama Muhammad Iqbal’s 100th Birth Anniversary. Rs. 2, Rs. 5 and Rs. 10 coins were issued in 1998, 2002 and 2016 respectively. SBP has also issued commemorative coins on occasions such as Father of the Nation Quaid-e-Azam Muhammad Ali Jinnah’s Birth Anniversary, Islamic Summit, Wild Life Conservation day, Poet of the East Allama Iqbal’s Birth anniversary, Advent of 15th century Hijra etc.

Recently, commemorative coins have been issued on Mother of the Nation Fatima Jinnah’s 110th Birth Anniversary, former Prime Minister  Benazir Bhutto’s Death anniversary and laudatory coins paying tribute to humanitarian services rendered by the late Mr. Abdus Sattar Edhi and the late Dr. Ruth Pfau. In the past, gold coins were also issued occasionally, such as the Rs. 500/- coin issued on the 100th Birth Anniversary of Quaid-e-Azam in 1976, a Rs. 500/- commemorative coin issued on the 100th Birth anniversary of Dr. Allama Muhammad Iqbal in 1977 and the highest denomination coin i.e. Rs. 3000/- coin issued for the conservation of “Astor Markhor” in 1976.

Currently, regular coins of Rs 10, Rs 5, Rs 2 and Re 1 are issued.

About SBP
Economic Data
Press Releases
Laws & Regulations
Monetary Policy
Help Desk
SBP Videos
SBP Welfare Trust
Contact us
What's New?
Online Tenders
Web Links

Educational Resources
Regulatory Returns
Rupey ko Pehchano
Zahid Husain Memorial Lecture
Best view Screen Resolution : 1024 * 768
Copyright © 2016. All Rights Reserved.