About Us

 Monetary Policy Committee (MPC)

 Powers and Functions of the Monetary Policy Committee

Powers and Functions of the Monetary Policy Committee are laid down in the State Bank of Pakistan Act, 1956 (as amended upto 28-01-2022):

"In order to achieve the objectives of the Bank, the Monetary Policy Committee shall -

  1. formulate the monetary policy, including, as appropriate, decisions relating to intermediate monetary objectives, key interest rates and the supply of reserves in Pakistan and may make regulations for their implementation;
  2. approve and issue the monetary policy statement and other monetary policy measures;
  3. perform any other functions conferred on it by law; and
  4. carry out any ancillary activities incidental to the exercise of its functions under this Act."

Members of the Monetary Policy Committee
Mr. Jameel Ahmad
Chairperson Governor, SBP
Dr. Inayat Hussain
Deputy Governor - Banking & FMRM, SBP
Mr. Saleem Ullah
Deputy Governor - Finance , Inclusion & Innovation
Mr. Muhammad Ali Malik
Executive Director - FMRM, SBP
Dr. Naved Hamid
External Member
Dr. Hanid Mukhtar
External Member
Dr. S.M Turab Hussain
External Member
Mr. Najaf Yawar Khan
Non-Executive Director SBP Board
Mr. Muhammad Ali Latif
Non-Executive Director SBP Board
Mr. Fawad Anwar
Non-Executive Director SBP Board
Secretary to the Monetary Policy Committee

Mr. Fayyaz ur Rehman
Corporate Secretary
About SBP
Economic Data
Press Releases
Laws & Regulations
Monetary Policy
Help Desk
SBP Videos
SBP Welfare Trust
Contact us
What's New?
Online Tenders
Web Links

Educational Resources
Regulatory Returns
Rupey ko Pehchano
Zahid Husain Memorial Lecture
Best view Screen Resolution : 1024 * 768
Copyright © 2016. All Rights Reserved.